Thank you for attending Our 2017 Annual Celebration!

2017 ECM Award Recipients

The 2017 REVEREND ROBERT W. TOBIN AWARD FOR SOCIAL JUSTICE: The Reverend Mariama White Hammond

For her life long dedication to activism in the city of Boston, being a prophetic witness through her voice, her actions and her relationships. For her leadership at Project HIP HOP for over 13 years, where she focused on helping low-income youth of color create art that explores social justice issues and called on audiences to take action. For her ongoing leadership advocating for our earth, through environmental justice and for her deep commitment to the ongoing struggle for immigrant rights and sanctuary in our communities.


For their work in caring for creation and making eco-justice a core principal of their ministry. We honor their actions to lower their impact on the planet through environmental updates to their building and changes within their active church life. We thank them for their commitment to make eco-justice a calling card for their local ministry in Medford through organizing the annual GreenUp CleanUps, hosting environmental film showings and an environmental justice series for adult education, and for utilizing their front lawn as a garden to grow fresh vegetables for the local food pantry. We praise them for this ministry in protecting our earth.

THE 2017 BARBARA C. HARRIS AWARD FOR SOCIAL JUSTICE: Rafaela Polanco and Piedad Janet Muñoz

Rafaela Polanco: For her life long dedication to the rights of those in need, for her unstoppable energy organizing parents at St. Stephen’s Youth Programs and the Blackstone Innovation School and for her coordination of the Boston Pilot of the Parent Mentor Program at the Blackstone. We honor her organizing work on the No on 2 Campaign and currently on the Boston Public School Sanctuary Schools Campaign. We thank her for her dedication to creating equity for all human beings.

Piedad Janet Muñoz: For her ongoing pursuit of social justice through advocacy and organizing in Boston as a dedicated member of St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church. We honor her for her work to create college opportunities for low income students, for her commitment to community organizing campaigns focused on passing comprehensive immigration reform, increasing the minimum wage, and most recently the No on 2 to campaign, where she worked to maintain public funds in public schools, and for her ongoing advocacy for immigrant parents and students who deserve a quality education.

We are so thankful for the sponsorship and support of the following members of our community:


Maloney Properties

BURGESS Sponsors:
The Episcopal Diocese of Massachusetts
Karsten Development

PELHAM Sponsor:

Christ Church, Cambridge

FRIEND Sponsors:
Accounting Management Solutions
Emmanuel Church, Boston
Church of the Holy Spirit, Mattapan
Susan Alexander and Jim Gammill
Grace Church, Medford
Hemenway & Barnes LLC.
Mike Stevens
St. Peter’s Church, Weston
The Rev. Robert W. Tobin
Trillium Asset Management


Ella and Tom Auchincloss
Bud and Ruth Ann Cederholm
Church of the Good Shepherd, Watertown
Esperanza Academy, Lawrence
Grace Church, Newton
Norm and Lucie Faramelli
Livingston & Hanyes, P.C.
The Rev. Michael Melendez
Allan Rogers
Parish of All Saints’, Ashmont
Jack and Peggy Roll
St. Anne’s of the Fields, Lincoln
St. James’ Church, Cambridge
Trinity Church, Copley Square
Trinity Church, Haverhill

We are thankful for the support from:
Valerie Abrahamsen
B-PEACE for Jorge Campaign
Church of Our Savior, Brookline
Eleanor Druckman
Grace Church Federated, East Boston
Grace Episcopal Church, Everett
Dr. Fredrica Harris Thompsett
Linda Hastie
The Rev. Richard T. Loring
Joanne Moar
Charles Musselman
Mary Bartow Snow
John Suhrbier
St. Andrew’s, Wellesley
St. Stephen’s Youth Programs, Boston
George Weaver