Annual Celebration Awards: Request for Nominations

Thank you so much for your interest in nominating a leader for Episcopal City Mission's Annual Social Justice Awards. Below you will find a description of each award, along with previous recipients.

Visit this page next year for more info on how to nominate a member of your community!

Robert W. Tobin Award for Social Justice Award

The “Robert W. Tobin Award for Social Justice” was established by Episcopal City Mission (ECM) in honor of Episcopal Priest and social activist Robert Tobin on the occasion of his retirement as chair of ECM’s Executive Committee. The award will be given to one or two individuals committed to social transformation in the tradition of Reverend Tobin and it will be given for the purpose of further training or education in one such area of work.

Past Tobin Award Recipients

2016: Carlos Saavedra Diaz

For his work as an advocate for undocumented immigrants in the United States. We honor his leadership as a high-school student in East Boston, launching a campaign to secure access to higher education for undocumented students; his co-founding of the Student Immigrant Movement in Massachusetts; his work as a national organizer with the United We Dream Network, which won deportation relief for 800 undocumented students; his founding of the Ayni Institute, which is training organizers to bring about a more reciprocal and just world; and his role as a leader in the emerging Cosecha Movement.

2015: The Rev. Ed Cardoza

For his years of extraordinary leadership at Still Harbor, and his ongoing commitment to teaching and utilizing spiritual formation and contemplative practice as a way to help individuals and organizations understand, deepen, or reconnect with their inner call, capacity, and commitment to make change in the world by serving others. Episcopal City Mission is proud to celebrate The Rev. Ed Cardoza and his commitment to ensuring that spiritual practice and reflection remain a constant and empowering presence in the work to bring about justice and peace in our world.

The Bishop Barbara C. Harris Award

The “Bishop Barbara C. Harris Award for Social Justice” was established by Episcopal City Mission to celebrate Episcopal women who have created a positive change as leaders in the community or in the church (with emphasis on but not limited to work with the youth.) Nominees will be reviewed from the perspective of the ministry of Bishop Barbara, a woman who did not followed the traditional path to the Episcopacy, was an outspoken advocate for the “least, the lost and the left out” and is a symbol of the church at its best.

Past Harris Award Recipients

2016: Ruth W. Campbell

For her life-long ministry as an advocate for children. We honor her work as Kindergarten teacher in Boston Public Schools, as a child care provider and trainer with the USDA’s Family Child Care Food Program, as the director of three Episcopal Christian Education programs, as a leader in organizing the National Episcopal Child Advocacy Conferences and as the founder of the Summer Food Service Program in Springfield, MA. We especially recognize her work in launching the Food for Kids Summer Food Service Program in Orleans, MA, which served over 30,000 meals to children on the Cape in 2015.

2015: Ella Auchincloss & The Rev. Liz Steinhauser

Ella Auchincloss: For her ongoing commitment to deepening the congregational leadership capacity of Episcopal churches, both locally and nationally, through her founding of the Leadership Development Initiative. Episcopal City Mission is proud to celebrate Ms. Auchincloss and her work to educate both non-profits and churches in ways to increase the impact of their mission through spiritually grounded community organizing and leadership development.

The Rev. Liz Steinhauser: For her continued dedication to the empowerment of youth in the City of Boston through the tools of community organizing and her deep commitment to social justice. Episcopal City Mission is proud to celebrate the Rev. Steinhauser and her work alongside students, teachers, parents, and workers to address the root causes of injustice and violence especially at St. Stephen’s Church in Boston’s South End and through the B-PEACE for Jorge Campaign.

The M. Thomas Shaw Award for Social Justice

The “M. Thomas Shaw Award for Social and Economic Justice” was established by Episcopal City Mission on the occasion of the retirement of the Rt. Rev. M. Thomas Shaw, SSJE as the Diocesan Bishop of the Diocese of Massachusetts as a memorialization of his Episcopacy and passion for justice. The award started in 2014 and shall be bestowed annually on a parish, mission or faith community in the Episcopal Diocese of Massachusetts at the ECM Annual Dinner as a celebration of how this particular church gives continuity to the work and vision for social and economic justice imparted by Bishop Shaw in this Diocese during his Episcopacy.

Past Shaw Award Recipients

2016: The Creation Care Community of the Episcopal Diocese of MA

2015: Boston Warm

For their swift action in response to the crisis caused by the closure of the Long Island Bridge in October of 2014. Their commitment to the wellbeing of people experiencing homelessness or addition shows us what it truly means to “love thy neighbor.” Their organization of clergy and lay leaders from many faith traditions and many communities is an inspiring example of interfaith collaboration. Their creation both of day shelters and lockers to meet the immediate needs of the community paired with a campaign demanding that the City of Boston fix the systems that led to this crisis demonstrates the interwoven nature of charity and justice as demonstrated by the legacy of Bishop Shaw. Episcopal City Mission is proud to celebrate their work.